Hello There, Guest! Register

This job seeking thing is getting to me.
Blues
BRB, Posting

07-10-2009, 10:13 AM

(07-10-2009, 08:45 AM)rumsfald link Wrote: [quote author=Pokemon Trainer Blues link=topic=3243.msg96277#msg96277 date=1247230532]
You're applying a very specific criteria to this. Not everyone has the initial money, transportation, or creds necessary to search outside of an ACTUAL local area until they get the money to do so.

I am applying very specific criteria to this: How bad do you want to do things differently to improve your life?

When I didn't have a car, I had family and friends drive me to my first job shredding medical records in a dusty old attic of a run-down clinic. I busted my ass at that so hard that one of the bosses offered to start picking me up and dropping me off. Later, when I was a poor student, when I worked the 3 jobs I mentioned above and was a janitor, when I ate boxes of mac and cheese day after day so I would have enough change to operate the coin-operated washer in the basement of the 3-story apartment complex, I car-pooled.  4 years of car-pooling. I've used the bus, I've used the train, I took a gig at school so I didn't have to drive 2 places. I've done temp office secretarial work. I've done temp telemarketing (that was icky). I've been a per diem hospital orderly. I've been I volunteered and took below-min-wage positions and loans for school to boost my creds.

The specific criteria I am applying is: Do you have the necessary attitude to bust your ass to improve your circumstances? Frankly, Blues, you seem more focused on arguing about all the obstacles you perceive and use them to try to win an internet argument. But my advice isn't just for you, it's for anyone here that wants to read it.
[/quote]